PDA

View Full Version : Opinions on my charge temps/ AFR please

luke85
10-12-2007, 09:40 PM
Im fairly new to engine tuning and am eager to get into it a little more. I drive a Corsa with the vauxhall C20LET engine in, Currently running 1bar of boost with charge temps of about 30 degrees (at about 7 degrees outside), A/F ratio is in the low 11s. Im using a 25%M 75%W mix with the 2D system and i was looking to turn up the boost, my target is 1.2-1.3 bar.

What are the things I should be looking out for and listening for? Is knock obvious to hear? I will be taking it to the rolling road fairly soon but I dont really like it because I dont learn anything, they dont even let you sit in the same room.

Thanks for any opinions/advice

keithmac
11-12-2007, 12:29 AM
Knock and AFR are the things I monitor most, if you haven`t got a good wideband AFR gauge in the car already it`s a good investment.

You can here knock on some engines, on my Mitsubishi if I heard audible knock the engine would be a gonner already though, I tuned the Golf for audible knock and that worked pretty well so it`s swings and roundabouts to some extent.

I prefer road tuning to rolling road tuning to be honest, 1/4 mile running is a good option for datalogging and tuning at higher loads/speeds.

luke85
11-12-2007, 01:29 AM
Thanks a lot for that keith, Im using a innovate LM-1 at the moment to look at the AFR. Just had it up to 1.2 bar and it looked as if it was hovering about 12.0 but until I get home and look at the log I cant be sure, its a case of hold on and try to keep it straight in 4th gear.

The engine sounded perfectly sweet to me but I am concerned about listening out for the knock, I think i might leave it as it is and let the RR guys have a look

The charge temps still seemed about 25 degrees C but its a cold night tonight, about 5 degrees outside. Does this mean that if we have a 30 degree day in summer I will be seeing 50 degree temps?

keithmac
11-12-2007, 10:36 PM