PDA

View Full Version : High humidity?

rarson
05-07-2005, 06:41 AM
I'm looking to set up a WI system on either a non-turbo or turbocharged car, or possibly both. I'm not set on water, but I think I would like to run at least a 50/50 water/meth mix. I also might experiment with some nitromethane, but for now my question concerns water.

I am in Guam. Guam has quite a lot of humidity, probably an average of about 80%. I am concerned by this fact, and am afraid that even a small amount of water will saturate the air. The problem is, it is also rather hot here so I would like to take advantage of WI for detonation purposes.

I am thinking possibly a straight methanol system might be in order. Also, I am highly interested in pursuing testing of a pre-turbo system. I would be removing the intercooler in this instance and making the piping as short as possible. I am a little weary of injecting straight meth into the compresssor, or is this just unfounded? I have no experience with methanol whatsoever, so tell me if I'm just being unnecessarily anxious.

Thanks for all the help, there's a wealth of info here but I could not successfully find any information regarding high humidity climates.

hotrod
29-07-2005, 10:18 AM
Having spent a couple years in Guam, ( I remember a speed run or two on an abandoned air strip on the north end of the island in a new 240Z ).

I would say your assessment is probably correct. Your humidities are very high and water evaporation will be nearly zero when you are off boost or at low boost.

On a turbocharged application, even with an intercooler, there will be some evaporation due to the high inlet temps. In my tests on a TMIC on a WRX, in 90 degree weather the charge temp out of the intercooler might be 135 deg F or so. That significantly drys the air so water injected into hot charge air will still cool things off.

I would suggest you use at least 50/50 water methanol, straight water would not be my choice in a tropical climate like that.