waterinjection.info  

Go Back   waterinjection.info > Aquamist specific system Q and A and resources > Aquamist HFS-3 forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-08-2019, 03:01 AM
BlwnAway BlwnAway is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: St. Louis Mo US
Posts: 24
Default HFS-3 Tests O.K., but No Bar.Graph During.Operation

Hi guys, hope you can help figure out something for me.

I have an HFS-3 bought about early 2018:
-All the electrical connections test ok and everything seems to work correctly.
-The FIDC test with the gauge shows that a 1:1 ratio best mimics fuel injectors under power according to the gauge display.
-The SC trimmer appears to operate correctly according to the gauge.
-The spray test with a single large (.9mm) jet seems to work properly under FIDC, and I can also hear the pump turn on during spray.

But there is no bar graph display when under FIDC, in normal operation. Even with the SC trimmer in any position.
The bar graph did adjust in the test mode connection for SC trimming, and the bar graph worked during the IDC pre-scale ratio testing mode connection under power as well.

During operation with the dfs linked the gauge shows both the S and B lights on.

Here is the setup of the system:
2 jets, one between the I/C and TB and one pre-turbo.
The HP jet calculation is approx 1.3mm for my HP application.
The current jets are .6mm post I/C and .5mm pre-turbo for a start with testing.

Something I did notice though. (dfs still linked)
With both jets connected, as a test I disconnected the line to the pre-turbo jet (the longest of the hoses) and ran it to one of my spare jets (the same .9mm jet I used for initial testing and approx same hose length) placed again under the wiper.
The spray itself seemed to be lighter/less than when I did the initial test as a single jet system.

Any help in something I may have overlooked or a possible problem would be appreciated, can't set fail safes or be comfortable without a properly working bar graph.

Thanks ahead
Mark.

Last edited by BlwnAway; 09-08-2019 at 01:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-08-2019, 08:33 PM
Richard L Richard L is offline
Manufacturer sponsor
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: England
Posts: 4,898
Default Re: HFS-3 Tests O.K., but No Bar.Graph During.Operation

Post a picture of the circuit board here so I can see the settings of your board.
__________________
Richard L
aquamist technical support
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-2019, 03:03 AM
BlwnAway BlwnAway is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: St. Louis Mo US
Posts: 24
Default Re: HFS-3 Tests O.K., but No Bar.Graph During.Operation

Here you are, under side as will so you know that no solders have been done.





Thanks Richard

Last edited by BlwnAway; 10-08-2019 at 03:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-08-2019, 06:07 AM
BlwnAway BlwnAway is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: St. Louis Mo US
Posts: 24
Default Re: HFS-3 Tests O.K., but No Bar.Graph During.Operation

Also did another test,
Unlinked the DFS
Turned the WL fully counter clockwise
Turned the WH fully clockwise

Upon acceleration the Water Level light turns on as soon as the pump activates.

This happened with 3 different SC settings, and 3 different threshold settings.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-08-2019, 08:29 AM
Richard L Richard L is offline
Manufacturer sponsor
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: England
Posts: 4,898
Default Re: HFS-3 Tests O.K., but No Bar.Graph During.Operation

Is FIDC referring to same as FDC jumper link test?

Are there any other tests you did the gauge actually shows flow, such as SYS test?
__________________
Richard L
aquamist technical support
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-08-2019, 02:46 AM
BlwnAway BlwnAway is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: St. Louis Mo US
Posts: 24
Default Re: HFS-3 Tests O.K., but No Bar.Graph During.Operation

Yes, sorry for that, FDC Jumper Test.

I didn't find instructions for the FDC test, so just preformed the test as such:
Linked the FDC test pins,
Did a hard pull in 3rd gear, with multiple IDC pre-scaler configurations, then choose the configuration where the bar graph display best mimicked the actual IDC from my datalogs, which ended up being x1.00.

As far as having a bar graph display during any actual flow tests.
No.
There was no visible bar graph during the SYS Test linking, with the threshold trimmer fully Counter Clockwise, (the LED's on the board did operate correctly with throttle)
Or during the drive test with the external jet (still with the threshold trimmer fully Counter Clockwise) even though the actual flow rate change with RPM is evident.

The only time the bar graph display seems to work is during the FDC test and SC calibration adjustment, but nothing on any flow testing.

Last edited by BlwnAway; 11-08-2019 at 04:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-08-2019, 08:23 AM
Richard L Richard L is offline
Manufacturer sponsor
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: England
Posts: 4,898
Default Re: HFS-3 Tests O.K., but No Bar.Graph During.Operation

Let's move on.

It appears the issue is on the flow sensor cable, please the following:

1. The compartments between the gold tabs on the RJ11 connector is not distorted
2. The sensor head is fully seated onto the flow sensor tube (engine bay side)
3. If all is well, continue...
4. remove the flow sensor assembly from the FAV by ranching from the FAV end so the sensor tube remains intact.
5. Blow gently from the inlet side (female end), let me know if whirling sound is heard.
6. If not, carefully disassembling the flow sensor and examine the internals for debris or clogged filter.
7. If whirling sound is heard, it will be a faulty flow sensor cable (yellow) or controller issue

If at anytime the yellow and red harness was swapped, it would damage the controller and will need factory repair (free)
__________________
Richard L
aquamist technical support
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-08-2019, 09:40 AM
Richard L Richard L is offline
Manufacturer sponsor
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: England
Posts: 4,898
Default Re: HFS-3 Tests O.K., but No Bar.Graph During.Operation

FDC test is on page 12.5
__________________
Richard L
aquamist technical support
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17-08-2019, 11:36 PM
BlwnAway BlwnAway is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: St. Louis Mo US
Posts: 24
Default Re: HFS-3 Tests O.K., but No Bar.Graph During.Operation

Richard, sorry for the delay in response, no spare time during my work week.

Electrical connections appear fine, good contacts and I've been very careful, throughout assembly to not accidentally connect to the wrong ports in the board.

As for the actual physical flow.
I removed and carefully disassembled the FAV assembly.
I can blow through the filter housing tube, but hear no audible whir or flutter in the air.
I also then disassembled the tube assembly to reveal the E clip, removed it, but the assembly seemed fairly solidly installed into the assembly tube and didn't want to force anything without some instruction as to the actual procedure.
I cannot however blow through the FAV "T" at all.

Just let me know what next.
Thanks.

Last edited by BlwnAway; 17-08-2019 at 11:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18-08-2019, 09:21 PM
Richard L Richard L is offline
Manufacturer sponsor
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: England
Posts: 4,898
Default Re: HFS-3 Tests O.K., but No Bar.Graph During.Operation

Has the gauge ever shown any bars?
__________________
Richard L
aquamist technical support
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.