waterinjection.info  

Go Back   waterinjection.info > Water/Methanol database on specific model of cars > Your one-stop search for water/methanol injected cars

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29-12-2011, 02:34 AM
Tem120 Tem120 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami
Posts: 15
Default Aquamist 2d Install ? on an FD?

hi I purchased a second hand aquamist 2d unit . BUT it came with NO instructions I am at a complete and utter loss as to how to even begin to install it . Is there possibly a link to the original instructions or a quick guide as to what goes where ? and how ? hah .

I'm sorry if this has been asked a million times , I tried doing a quick search but it seems that its dominated by the newer models and not much on the 2d system
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29-12-2011, 05:20 AM
Howerton Engineering Howerton Engineering is offline
manufacture sponsor
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern California
Posts: 334
Default Re: Aquamist 2d Install ? on an FD?

http://howertonengineering.com/retir...m-information/

Scroll down to the third section.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29-12-2011, 10:02 AM
Tem120 Tem120 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami
Posts: 15
Default Re: Aquamist 2d Install ? on an FD?

thANKS very much! it was extreemely helpful . But a quick question

The purple wire says " FI % monitor 0-5v = 0-100% , where does that go to?

also if you dont mind does the fuel injector wires go to the main fuel injector rail , or just a random injector doesn't matter which ?

Last edited by Tem120; 29-12-2011 at 10:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29-12-2011, 10:37 AM
Richard L Richard L is offline
Manufacturer sponsor
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: England
Posts: 4,771
Default Re: Aquamist 2d Install ? on an FD?

IDC pick up can be connected to any one of the fuel injectors.

The purple wire is intended for IDC logging/moinitoring purpose usage.
__________________
Richard L
aquamist technical support
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16-01-2012, 02:37 AM
Tem120 Tem120 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami
Posts: 15
Default Re: Aquamist 2d Install ? on an FD?

Thanks for all the Help , I got it connected to one of the primary injectors it wasnt easy ..

Now all thats left is the TAP .. I have a greddy elbow

now my thoughts are I bought a used model , and it has a very very little bit of thread on the injector where does that thread onto? am I uspposed to drill and tap the elbow then screw it onto that? or am I supposed to usea NUT and screw the nut onto the thread of the injector?

and if I'm supposed to drill and tap is what sized bit and tap do I use ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16-01-2012, 08:03 PM
g's 3rd gen g's 3rd gen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: daytona, USA
Posts: 1
Default Re: Aquamist 2d Install ? on an FD?

You ned to rewire the green wire to the secondary injector (light green) on a n fdrx7. You do not want to tap the greddy elbow as it will strip because the aluminum is too thin to support threads. Buy one of these http://www.howertonengineering.net/p...Weld-Bung.html and have it welded to it for long term use. If you buy the bung also purchase the plug http://www.howertonengineering.net/p...king-Plug.html I just did this complete system on my fdrx7. G

Last edited by g's 3rd gen; 16-01-2012 at 08:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16-01-2012, 10:45 PM
Tem120 Tem120 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami
Posts: 15
Default Re: Aquamist 2d Install ? on an FD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by g's 3rd gen View Post
You ned to rewire the green wire to the secondary injector (light green) on a n fdrx7. You do not want to tap the greddy elbow as it will strip because the aluminum is too thin to support threads. Buy one of these http://www.howertonengineering.net/p...Weld-Bung.html and have it welded to it for long term use. If you buy the bung also purchase the plug http://www.howertonengineering.net/p...king-Plug.html I just did this complete system on my fdrx7. G
wow .. that just ruined my day lol I spent a couple hours to tap the injector wires yesterday .. I tapped one of the red injectors .. did you mean

the green wire? from the injector as the one I managed to tap had a green and a black/yellow wire..

Or is it hte color of the injector itself supposed to be green? the green wire from the system is supposed to be the negative isn't it ? why is it important to get the negative from the green from the secondary injector?

Also I wired it to the upper most injector rail , the closest injector to the firewall on the top rail . it has a puke green , and black/yellow wires . the motor is out of the car . so I dont even know which one is pos or neg , so I just have them onto an extension which I would solder into the aquamist system after I got the motor running and found out which is which .

but i'd like to understand why is it that I need to get hte negative lead (green from the aquamist system) from the secondary injectors ( I imagine you mean the lower rail )

Last edited by Tem120; 16-01-2012 at 11:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16-01-2012, 11:14 PM
Tem120 Tem120 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami
Posts: 15
Default Re: Aquamist 2d Install ? on an FD?

Aslso could I not just FIND the injector wires that come from the ECU in the harness instead of taping into it from so near the injector? what color are the wires for the secondary injectors if you happen to know?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16-01-2012, 11:31 PM
Richard L Richard L is offline
Manufacturer sponsor
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: England
Posts: 4,771
Default Re: Aquamist 2d Install ? on an FD?

Some information below, worth trying.
http://www.aquamist.co.uk/vbulletin/...ead.php?t=1979
__________________
Richard L
aquamist technical support
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17-01-2012, 01:00 AM
Tem120 Tem120 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami
Posts: 15
Default Re: Aquamist 2d Install ? on an FD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard L View Post
Some information below, worth trying.
http://www.aquamist.co.uk/vbulletin/...ead.php?t=1979
ok so according to that , the primary works always , while the secondary works part of the time ( after the primaries reach 50% workload , NOW , does the aquamist work depending on the workloado f the injector? say 25% the aquamist throws out a preprogrammed ammount ?

but even when the secondary's activate they work at the same % as the primary's so if at I dont know what kind of measurement it uses but lets say , 1v is idle , and 6v is full throttle .. if the IDC works based on current then weather its on the primary or secondary , 3v will be 3 v on the primary or secondary .. unless there were some way to program the IDC to mate it with the injector's flow rate itself . so the secondaries at 50% load is 400 CC , and the primaries at 50% load is about 250 CC .. so it would be better to put it on the secondaries because its the one with the most flow and thus give the aquamist a better ratio .

BUT since it has no calibration .. what determinates that the secondary injectors are better then the primary since whne the secondaries are working so is the primary .. unless the fear is the aquamist will trigger because the primaries get to 50% quickly and it might stop combustion since there is little fuel . but shouldn't the aquamist only work when the car is in boost anyway?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.