waterinjection.info  

Go Back   waterinjection.info > Injection Theory (what it is and what it does) > Injection Mixtures

Old 03-03-2004, 03:40 PM

Default good water/fuel mix for a home built system

i have been looking at water injection for a while and i have finally got a car worthwile doing it too. a 1.8L '91 nissin pulsar, fuel injected. i was looking at the commercial units but i dont have a lazy $700 lying around. i am in my final year of an engineering degree so i was thinking of designing my own system that will use the air-flow metre to regulate the water flow.

So far i have collected this much information
? Proportional to engine load / air flow
? Only inject water at higher engine loads
? Do not use ethanol
? Mounted before the throttle valve but after the air meter

what i was wondering about, how much water do you inject into the engine? is there a way of accurately testing the optimum volume on a shoe string budjet? Any other important information that i may need to know would be useful, or comments on what i already have

i was also wondering wether the engine should be at operating temprature or close to it before the system turns on to prevent water damage to the engine and oil.

Thanks
Old 06-03-2004, 02:04 PM

Default choices

Keep in mind that the "don't use ethanol" is Aquamist specific due to incompatiblity issues on the pump. There is nothing wrong with ethanol per se, you just have to use alcohol blends that are compatible with your system.

Here in the central plains states of the U.S. fuel grade ethanol is easily available, and is much less toxic or corrosive than methanol. I will be using it on my system for that reason.

You should also add to your list of axioms.

For optimum operation lean the AFR when injecting water for max power.

Larry
Old 06-03-2004, 06:07 PM