PDA

View Full Version : 2d system on 94 RX-7: pump running continuously?

scl
11-09-2005, 03:50 AM
Hello all,

I'm new to WI. I searched, but couldn't find anything on this topic. I purchased a single turbo '94 RX-7 w/ a new 2d system already installed in the rear hatch.

With power switched on, the pump comes on and will not stop until I turn the power off. Fuses are ok. I have primed the pump and verified that at 10 psi there is a nice atomized spray from the injector. I let the pump run for a couple of minutes to remove any air in the system. I spoke w/ the installer of the system and this was not a problem for the 1500 miles he put on the car after installation. The WI was not used for a period of months prior to my purchase of the car. The LEDs on the FIA2 appear to be ok. I don't see any major leaks in the system. A few drops of water are present on the HSV at the junction of the metal body of the valve and the wires.

The system works well, but right now I must turn the system on and off manually whenever I decide to drive the car with "spirit" to avoid damage to the pump. It gets very warm to the touch after its on for longer than a few minutes. HELP!

Stew

Greenv8s
11-09-2005, 11:45 AM
I'm no expert, but I think that system uses a pressure switch to control the manifold pressure? The switch goes open circuit to turn the pump on, so any electrical fault in the switch or associated wiring would cause the pump to run continuously. I guess it's also possible that the pressure switch has simply been adjusted too high.

scl
11-09-2005, 05:12 PM
I'll check on the setting of the water pressure switch. The manifold pressure switch seems to be functioning, as 10psi of pressure applied to it causes the injector to spray.

Greenv8s
11-09-2005, 05:22 PM